Web This Site

   Ledger Sentinel - The local NEWS source in Oswego, Montgomery and Boulder Hill for more than half a century.
Ledger Sentinel Ledger Sentinel Ledger Sentinel

Published each Thursday in Oswego, Illinois 60543
 Award-Winning Newspaper: Illinois Press Association, Northern Illinois Newspaper Association contests

Filing period ends for March primary candidates : News : Oswego Ledger-Sentinel : Hometown Newspaper for Oswego and Montgomery, Illinois
Filing period ends for March primary candidates
Former Kendall County Board member will attempt to regain seat

by Tony Scott


A Yorkville alderman and a former Kendall County Board member who lost his seat in the 2012 general election are among those who have signed up to run on the March 18 primary ballot for the County Board race.

The deadline to submit candidacy petitions to the Illinois State Board of Elections and the Kendall County Clerk's Office for all races on the March primary ballot was the end of the business day Monday.

Among those filing for the County Board race were Yorkville Alderman Chris Funkhouser and former County Board member and Yorkville Mayor Bob "H.D." Davidson. Davidson lost his board seat in last year's election.

Six Republicans and one Democrat - including all three incumbents - filed for three County Board seats in District 1, which mostly includes the western part of the county.

The Republicans who filed in District 1 were Matthew G. Prochaska, 50 S. Royal Oaks Dr., Bristol (incumbent); Rick J. Trevino, 3112 Hoffman St., Plano; Judy Gilmour, 23 Fox Glen Dr., Yorkville (incumbent); Chris Funkhouser, 903 Canyon Tr., Yorkville; Todd Milliron, 61 Cotswold Dr., Yorkville; and Robert E. Davidson Jr., 244 Jeter Rd., Plano. Amy L. Cesich, 1912 Banbury Ave., Yorkville, an incumbent, was the lone Democrat to file in District 1.

Four people - three Republicans and one Democrat - filed for two seats in District 2. Republican incumbents Scott R. Gryder, 4630 McLaren Dr., Oswego; and Lynn M. Cullick, 232 Angela Cir., Oswego, filed, along with Republican primary challenger Jeremy Swanson, 44 Circle Drive West, Montgomery. Democrat Kristine Heiman, 5100 Baseline Rd., Oswego, also filed in District 2.

In other county races, three Republicans filed as candidates for Kendall County sheriff. They are Dwight Baird, 37 Robert Rd., Oswego; Steven Eaves, 678 S. Hale St., Plano; and Jeffrey Christiansen, 467 Waubonsee Cir., Oswego.

Two Republicans filed as candidates for Kendall County clerk. They are Debbie Gillette, 1611 Cypress Lane, Yorkville (incumbent); and Dan Koukol, 1690 Collins Rd., Oswego. Koukol is currently a County Board member.

Filing for Kendall County treasurer was incumbent Jill Ferko, 37 Lyncliff Dr., Oswego, a Republican, and Democratic Party candidate Jim Stadtler, 10952 Tanglewood Trails Dr., Yorkville.

The County Clerk's Office will hold two lotteries for ballot placement on Dec. 9 at 8:30 a.m. in Room 210 at the County Office Building, located at 111 W. Fox St. in Yorkville. Personal attendance by candidates is not mandatory, according to County Clerk Debbie Gillette. The lotteries are for County Board candidates who filed simultaneously.

Those who want to file an objection to any candidacy filing will have to do so within five business days after the last day of petition filings, according to the State Board of Elections.

Candidates line up
for General Assembly races

Four Republicans and one Democrat filed for the seat now held by State Rep. Kay Hatcher, R-Yorkville, in the 50th State House District. Hatcher is not running for another term.

Republicans who filed are Beth C. Goncher, 125 South Western Ave., Aurora; Keith R. Wheeler, 206 Wolverine Dr., Oswego; Julie Cosimo, 7630B Route 34, Oswego; and William F. Keck, 61 Maple St., Sugar Grove. Valerie Burd, 300 E. Hydraulic Ave., Yorkville, filed as a Democrat.

State Rep. Tom Cross, R-Oswego, is not running for another term in the 97th State House District, and is instead running for state treasurer. Republicans who filed for his seat are Amanda Mancke, 312 Greenwood Pl., Oswego; Mark Batinick, 13707 Lake Dr., Plainfield; and Richard E. Chapman, 804 Lancer Ct. Shorewood. Also, Dennis Grosskopf, 1654 Fieldstone Dr. North, Shorewood, filed as a Democrat in that race.

Other state legislative candidates who filed are as follows:

75th State House District: John D. Anthony, 1812 Northshire Dr., Plainfield (incumbent, Republican); Ron Severson, 2770 W. Gore Rd., Morris (Republican); Martha J. Shugart, 2426 Sycamore Dr., Morris (Democrat).

84th State House District: Stephanie A. Kifowit, 770 Bonaventure Dr., Oswego (incumbent, Democrat); Krishna Bansal, 2416 Fawn Lake Cir., Naperville (Republican).

Four Republicans in 11th
Congressional District race

Four Republicans filed to run against incumbent Rep. Bill Foster, D-Naperville, in the 11th Congressional District race.

Filing for the Republican primary were Craig Robbins, 2220 Abbeywood Dr. Apt. C, Lisle; Chris Balkema, 26617 Samantha Ct, Channahon; Darlene Senger, 515 Chamberlain Lane Unit 203, Naperville; and Bert Miller, 745 South Oak St., Hinsdale.

Incumbent Bill Foster, 511 Aurora Ave. #510, Naperville, also filed.

Also, two Democrats filed for the 14th Congressional District race against Rep. Randy Hultgren, R-Winfield Township. Filing were John J. Hosta, 6316 Johnsburg Rd., Spring Grove; and Dennis Anderson, 4682 Kings Way N, Gurnee.

Incumbent Randall M. "Randy" Hultgren, 1S651 Verdun Dr., Winfield, also filed.

File for statewide races

Cross, 11 Patridge Square, Oswego officially filed to run for state treasurer in the Republican primary. He will face Bob Grogan, 481 Bunning Dr., Downers Grove, in the primary. The winner of that primary will face Democrat Michael W. Frerichs of Champaign.

Also, Sen. Jim Oberweis, R-Sugar Grove, who represents part of Kendall County, filed as a Republican for the U.S. Senate race. Oberweis, who resides at 3 Buckingham Dr. in Sugar Grove, was just elected to a four-year State Senate term last year. He will face Douglas Lee Truax, 1264 Candlewood Ct., Downers Grove; William Lee, 3442 Yale Bridge Rd., Rockton; and Armen Alvarez, 1434 S. Springfield Ave., Apt. 1, Chicago in the GOP primary.

The winner of that race will face incumbent U.S. Sen. Richard J. Durbin, D-Springfield.

universal expression - design* print * web Copyright © 2011 Small Business Advances
Site design by universal expression - design * print * web
Comments or Questions - Chicago's Professional Web Design Firm
Site maintained using SiteCurrency Content Management System